Inner Chatter

We all have that little voice inside of us that tells us that chatters away whether we want it to or not.  Sometimes that little voice leaves us with self-doubt and makes us believe that we are not as wonderful as we should believe we are.  Our inner chatter can limit us and cast self-doubt on our possibilities.

We hear and read so much today about the power of positive thinking, as a survivor of many of life’s challenges I am witness to its profound effects.  I am a firm believer in affirmations.  It is difficult enough to get through life with all the negative external chatter projected upon us, it is important that we reprogram our inner voice to chatter only words of hope and warmth.

I can recall the moment in time where I allowed external negative chatter to become my own internal chatter and it nearly devoured me.  I allowed the words of another to affect me in such a way that it took me many years to reconstruct and rebuild my self-esteem.  Unfortunately, I was not equipped with the power of positive thinking and the right tools to deflect the harsh words spoken and their words became my own inner chatter.  Today I have changed my thinking and I have changed my life.

How does one begin to change their thinking?  There are numerous books on the subject but keeping it simple, where do you start?  It starts when you first open your eyes in the morning and see the light of day.  It is at that first light that you see when you make a conscious choice on how you are going to greet your day.  This is the best time to take a look at an affirmation or say an affirmation to yourself.  It may be something like…

There is beauty all around me, this is a wonderful day.

or

I feel wonderful today and I am going to well at whatever comes my way.

Write your affirmations as they apply to you, for whatever inner chatter that you need.  If you need to work on patience.  Then maybe your affirmation would read like this:

Slow and steady wins the race.

If you need to work on your self-esteem perhaps your affirmation would read like this:

I am beautiful, intelligent and worthy of my love.

or

There is no one else in this world like me, I am special. I love me.

 

Changing your thinking does not happen overnight, it requires a committment.  I reassure you that it does help to start your day off with a positive affirmation and it will feel more natural over time.  Be brave, look at yourself right in the mirror and tell yourself…It is going to be a good day!  And if you get in your car and you spill your coffee all over the place, that doesn’t mean the day is ruined that means you are making memories!  Spilled coffee is a bit of an inconvenience but it is not a day breaker, news of cancer is a day breaker!  Turn your negatives into positives.  I had a boss once that had a philosophy that she left me with when a situation was getting stressful and the team was feeling like the day was going downhill fast….she would say, “Did anyone die?”  “No.”, would come the quiet replies. “Then it’s not a bad day.”

Enjoy your day!

The Possibilitarian’s Light

 

About cruz2lose

I am witty, intelligent and still manage to keep my sense of humor no matter what life throws at me!
This entry was posted in Human Spirit, Positive Thinking, Self Help and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inner Chatter

  1. Always speak Life! Life and death (spiritually) is in the power of our tongue…. I am having a great day and hope you are too!

Would love to hear from you

